AAOIFI Accounting Board held its 3rd Meeting

 

accounting-board

Accounting and Auditing Organisation for Islamic Financial Institutions (AAOIFI), the international standard-setting organization for Islamic finance, recently held the third meeting of its Accounting Board (AAB) on 24th – 25th September 2016, in its current term of office, at AAOIFI premises, in the Kingdom of Bahrain.

The Board reviewed updates and follow-up on its work plan for 2016 including projects on several financial accounting standards that were assigned to respective working groups earlier this year.

Furthermore, the Board discussed a number of issues, including:

  • Review of the financial accounting standard (FAS) on Murabahah, which has reached the stage of final exposure draft. In this regard, the board disccused the draft along with the remarks and comments submitted by the chairman of the respective working group. Also, The Board contemplated the need to merge FAS 2 and 20 into a comprehensive standard on Murabaha and Deferred Payment Sales as well as the need to develop a separate standard on Tawarruq and Commodity Murabahah.. The Board finalized all amendments to be made to the exposure draft, including the set of definitions to be included, the terminologies that require amendment and the disclosures and break-downs that need to be added to the final version of the Standard.
  • The structure of the Sukuk standard along with highlighting the most important areas for consideration. Also, the Board discussed the need that experts are engaged to expedite the finalization of the Sukuk standard by year-end, in addition to the need to incorporate expert opinions and insights collected at the Sukuk Workshop on 26-27 October 2016 which has been held in collaboration with King Fahd Univesity for Petrolum and Minearals, Dhahran, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.
  • The Board also went through the methodology for the key questions to be addressed in its project on provisions, reserves, and impairment expected losses (taking into consideration the requirements of IFRS 9). The findings of the first meeting of the respective working group were also discussed by the Board. Furthermore, the Board approved the timeline of submission of consultation notes and exposure draft. A meeting to discuss the progress of the project was also suggested to be held shortly.
  • The Board stressed again the need for the General Secretariat and the respective workings groups to expdite the projects that were assigned to them, including financial accounting standards on Sukuk, Wakala, Waad and Khayar, and Zakah. In this regard, the Board also emphasized on the importance of finilzation of the exposure drafts of new standards by the working groups so that the Board can review these drafts by the end of 2016.
  • The AAB advised AAOIFI’s General Secretariat and the technical team that the draft standards are expected to be formulated through a technical methodoloy that takes into account relevant international standards and contemplate convergence wherever possible, without compromising Shari’ah rules and precepts and Islamic finance principles in connection with the requirements of AAOIFI’s framework.

AAOIFI will hold a meeting in November at which the FAS on Murabaha will be reviewed and adopted. The next AAB meeting will be held at the end of December 2016 in Jeddah, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

المجلس المحاسبي التابع لأيوفي يعقد اجتماعه الثالث

 

accounting-board

عقد المجلس المحاسبي التابع لهيئة المحاسبة والمراجعة للمؤسسات المالية الإسلامية (أيوفي)، المنظمة الدولية المصدرة

لمعايير المالية الاسلامية، اجتماعه الثالث (في الدورة الحالية)، مؤخراً في مقر أيوفي بمملكة البحرين.

وقد استعرض المجلس في اجتماعه سير خطة عمل 2016م، بالإضافة إلى عدد من مشروعات معايير المحاسبة المالية التي تم تشكيل مجموعات عمل لكلٍ منها سابقاً هذ العام.

كما ناقش المجلس عدداً من الموضوعات، أهمها:

  • مراجعة المعيار المحاسبي بشأن المرابحة، الذي وصل إلى مرحلة المسودة النهائية، حيث ناقش المجلس مطولاً مسودة المعيار مع ملاحظات رئيس مجموعة العمل المكلفة بهذا المعيار. كما أخذ المجلس بعين الاعتبار الحاجة إلى دمج متطلبات معياري المحاسبة المالية رقم: (2) و(20) في معيارٍ شاملٍ عن المرابحة والبيع الآجل، والعمل على إصدار معيار مستقل عن التورق ومرابحة السلع. وقد وافق المجلس على عدة تعديلات في مسودة المعيار، بالإضافة إلى مجموعة التعاريف التي ستتم إضافتها إليه، والمصطلحات التي تتطلب التعديل والإفصاح، وكذلك المسائل التي يجب إدخالها إلى الصيغة النهائية لهذا المعيار.
  • كما ناقش المجلس هكيل المعيار المحاسبي للصكوك والنقاط الأساسية فيه مع تسليط الضوء على أهم الجوانب للنظر فيها. كما ناقش المجلس أيضاً فكرة الاستعانة بخبراء للإسراع في الانتهاء من صياغة المعيار بحلول نهاية العام الجاري، والأخذ بعين الاعتبار تعليقات المختصين بالصناعة التي سيتم الحصول عليها من خلال ورشة عمل الصكوك التي عقدت يومي 26-27 أكتوبر بالشراكة مع جامعة الملك فهد للبترول والمعادن في الظهران.
  • كما استعرض المجلس المنهجية المتبعة والأسئلة الرئيسة التي يجب تناولها في مشروع المعيار المحاسبي للمخصصات والاحتياطيات، واضمحلال الأصول والخسائر المتوقعة (مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار متطلبات معيار المحاسبة المالية الدولية التاسع IFRS 9)، كما تمت مناقشة نتائج الاجتماع الأول لمجموعة العمل المكلَّفة بالمشروع. ثم وافق المجلس على الجدول الزمني لتقديم الورقة الاستشارية ومسودة المعيار. وتم اقتراح عقد اجتماع يتم عقده قريباً لمناقشة التقدم في المشروع.
  • كما تمت إعادة التأكيد على أن الأمانة العامة ومجموعات العمل المعنية تحتاج إلى الإسراع في المشاريع التي تم تكليفها بها بما في ذلك معايير المحاسبة المالية بشأن: الصكوك والوكالة والوعد والخيار والزكاة. وقد أكد المجلس على أهمية أن تسعى مجموعات العمل للانتهاء من إعداد مسودات المعايير الجديدة لمراجعتها من قبل المجلس قبل نهاية عام 2016م.
  • كما وجه المجلسُ الأمانة العامة لأيوفي والفريق الفني فيها المعني بتطوير المعايير، بأن تحرص على أن صياغة مشروعات ومسوَّدات المعايير بمنهجية فنية مقارِنة تأخذ بعين الاعتبار معايير المحاسبة الدولية ذات الصلة ومحاولة التوافق معها ما أمكن، مع العناية بالمحافظة على الثوابت ومراعاة ضوابط وأحكام الشريعة الإسلامية ذات العلاقة ومتطلبات الإطار الأساسي لأيوفي.

هذا وستعقد أيوفي اجتماعاً في نوفمبر لمراجعة معيار المرابحة واعتماده. كما سيُعقد الاجتماع القادم للمجلس المحاسبي في نهاية شهر ديسمبر 2016م في جدة بالمملكة العربية السعودية بمشيئة الله.